Northern College Announces 2015 – 2016 Board of Governors Executive

Northern College News and Events

TIMMINS, ON: Northern College is pleased to announce the members of its newly-elected 2015 – 2016 Board of Governors Executive Committee. This year’s committee is comprised of Board Chair George Kemp, First Vice-Chair Alan Spacek, Second Vice-Chair Rock Foy and Governor at Large George Pirie.

“Northern College is very fortunate to attract this caliber of individuals who volunteer their time and energies that contribute to the growth and progressive nature of our college,” says Fred Gibbons, President of Northern College.

Kemp is a partner in the New Liskeard law firm Kemp Pirie. In his role as a solicitor and barrister, Kemp concentrates in the areas of residential and commercial real estate, corporate law, estate administration, and planning and succession.

Spacek currently serves as Mayor of Kapuskasing, a position he has held since 2006. Spacek also serves as President of the Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities and Board of Directors member of the Association of Municipalities Ontario.

Foy serves as the Director of Human Resources with the City of Timmins. In this post he manages all aspects of employee and labour relations for over 1000 staff, ensuring the organizational development of the city enables the achievement of strategic goals.

Pirie has worked in an executive capacity in the mining industry for over 15 years. He has experience in finance, operations, asset optimization, and strategic, corporate and business development. He brings to the board his strong ties to the local, national and international mining community.

“Our board looks forward to working with our new governors in the coming year,” says George Kemp, Chair of the Executive Committee. “One of our main priorities will be to find ways, as is the case with other colleges in the north, to increase enrolment at our four campuses, with special emphasis on our Indigenous student population.”

The 2015 – 2016 Board of Governors and Executive Committee officially assumed their duties on, Tuesday, September 1, 2015. They held their first meeting on Friday, September 11, 2015.


Media Contact:
Stephen Saarinen
Marketing and Communications Officer
705.235.3211 ext. 2276